Per TestRail’s Data Storage Policy, TestRail Cloud customers have limits on the amount of data that can be stored. The policy applies to the combined amount of storage consumed by the TestRail database and attachments added to TestRail.
Managing your Data Storage can be done from the Data Management tab of the Administration area. Here you will be able to see your current storage status, as well as the total size of your database and attachments.
Storage calculations displayed in TestRail are updated once per day.
Data management in TestRail 7.1+
TestRail Cloud Admin users on TestRail 7.1 will now see three different tabs under the Data Management settings page:
Here you can manage the data storage as well as see the total size of your database and attachments.
If your team is approaching or has exceeded the amount of storage allowed, this document provides some options for reducing data usage inside TestRail. When deleting data from TestRail, please keep in mind it may take up to 24 hours for your data usage to be recalculated.
Here you can schedule exports of your TestRail database and uploaded files for local installation or backup purposes. You can customize your export by selecting to include reports, and/or attachments. As well as the SQL version you wish to export. Then click Schedule Export and your Export will be automatically created.
Here you can perform all actions available in the attachment window but will see all attachments across all projects.
On this tab, you can also add new attachments, but you will have to manually add the projects the attachment will be visible in. The detailed view can be accessed the same way, by clicking the attachment.
Administrators can also take advantage of the search and filtering mechanisms to eliminate attachments from their instances if they’re no longer needed. The “Orphaned” filter allows administrators to easily identify and remove attachments that are no longer linked to a valid entity (e.g. Attachments that used to be linked to a test case or run, which have now been deleted).
Data management in TestRail 7.0 and prior
TestRail Cloud Admin users on TestRail 7.0 or previous will see the following information when viewing the Data Management tab:
How to increase your storage or remove data
If your team is approaching or has exceeded the amount of storage allowed, this document provides the following options for reducing data usage inside TestRail:
- Upgrade to Enterprise
- Delete old projects
- Delete old test runs & plans
- Move to TestRail Server
When deleting data from TestRail, please keep in mind it may take up to 24 hours for your data usage to be recalculated.
Upgrade to Enterprise
TestRail Professional Cloud instances have a 50 GB allowance, expandable up to 200 GB through a monthly fee, as defined in the Data Storage Policy. If you are not an Enterprise customer already, and your team needs more storage space, we suggest you consider migrating to TestRail Enterprise, which comes with 500GB in addition to other features like SAML Single Sign-On (SSO), Project Level Administration permissions, Audit Logs, and more.
Delete old projects
You can choose to delete old projects you no longer need to recover some space. In order to do this, go to the Administration area and navigate to the ‘Projects’ area. Click on the red X next to a project you no longer need and confirm you are sure that you want to delete it.
This action also deletes all test cases and results and everything else that is part of this project. It cannot be undone.
Delete old test runs & plans
Another way of managing your storage is deleting old test runs and test plans. Deleting test runs and plans will delete associated results, attachments, and other testing data from your instance. To perform this action in the TestRail UI, choose the test run you want to delete inside the Test Runs & Results tab. Click on Edit and on the right-side pane, you will see the option to Delete this test run. Click on the option and confirm you are sure that you want to delete it.
This action also deletes all tests and results in this run and cannot be undone.
This action also deletes all related test runs and results in this plan and cannot be undone.
You can also utilize TestRail’s API to delete old test runs and plans using the ‘delete_run’ and ‘delete_plan’ API methods. If you need to purge large amounts of old data from your TestRail instance, you would be able to automate the deletion of test runs and plans through the API by utilizing the get_runs and get_plans methods along with a filter (such as created_before) to retrieve a list of an old test run or plan IDs. Then, you can use delete_run or delete_plan for these runs and plans which you no longer need.
Move to TestRail Server
Another option you have is migrating your Cloud instance to your own server. The storage limitations mentioned above apply only to TestRail Cloud customers. TestRail Server has no storage limitations by default, so the storage limits for this would depend on the system configuration and resources of your server.
If you want to migrate from Cloud to Server, first create an export inside the Data Management section of the Administration area, then follow this guide.